11:11 and more

 

I sat down to the computer at 11:11 to start my post this morning, and I thought, I wonder how many people are aware of that time on a daily basis. It made me think about the church I used to go to in Cincinnati, the Armstrong Chapel. Most Sundays I would get up early to attend the old chapel service, go to a class and then attend the contemporary service, which I liked a lot. At some point, right before I moved, they started calling it the 11:11 service. I could appreciate that on many levels.

Their blurb on the net says, “11:11 a.m. – Contemporary Worship  An upbeat and excited atmosphere of worship, as the dynamic praise band gets you rocking, lifting your voice in praise, and then the pastor brings a topical, relevant message that will help you change your life and leave you feeling refreshed.” I would agree. I always felt good there, and walked out smiling. Each service (early morning, traditional or contemporary) has something special to offer.

Now they call the 11:11 service, Faith Infusion, but it still starts at 11:11. I would call this progressive thinking. I do miss my Sundays there, and though I receive the Sunday bulletins, it just isn’t the same as being there. The Associate Pastor (Nathan Custer) is excellent, and really seems to have found his own special way to communicate God’s word, unlike anyone else I have met. He is very folksy. I liked that about him, and I am sure others do as well. He has Sunday podcasts online.

I now attend a Pilgrim Holiness Church, which though it is still a Methodist Church, it is very different than what I am used to, though that is not a bad thing.  God gave us differences for a reason. I like the church enough to keep attending, twice on Sunday. I have to say, the people who attend are fervent in their praise and devotion to God. There is no doubt the Holy Spirit is felt there. I came to the church through the invite of a neighbor, and have been going since September, I guess. I would like to try a few other churches in the area at some point. I went to a pentecostal church for a special EndTimes series, and found it interesting. They have a very contemporary praise band, which was quite energetic.

There have been times I wished I could hear some of the music I used to hear in the 11:11 service I had attended, just because it really moved me. Well, God IS good to me, I did hear the children practicing a song after church Sunday, one that they used to play in my old church often. I stood to listen a few minutes before leaving, and thought how nice it was to hear that song again, even though I can’t remember the name of it. One of my favorites is:

 Open the Eyes of My Heart

Open the eyes of my heart, Lord
Open the eyes of my heart
I want to see You
I want to see You

To see You high and lifted up
Shining in the light of Your glory
Pour out Your power and love
As we sing holy, holy, holy

Holy, holy, holy
Holy, holy, holy
Holy, holy, holy
I want to see You

Faith Infusion has some of the favorities on their site with the lyrics, which is nice. Actually, I need to see if I can get some Mercy Me  some time, because a lot of the songs I like they have sung, like   They have a few albums, but I don’t know all the songs. My favorite Mercy Me song is:

i can only imagine

I can only imagine what it will be like
When I walk by your side
I can only imagine what my eyes will see
When your face is before me
I can only imagine

Surrounded by your glory
What will my heart feel
Will I dance for your Jesus
Or in awe of you be still
Will I stand in your presence
Or to my knees will I fall
Will I sing hallelujah
Will I be able to speak at all
I can only imagine
I can only imagine

I can only imagine when that day comes
And I find myself standing in the Son
I can only imagine when all I will do
Is forever, forever worship you
I can only imagine
I can only imagine

Chorus

I can only imagine
When all I will do
Is forever, forever worship you

Words & Music by Bart Millard  
© 1999 Simpleville Music (ASCAP)

Hmmm, I have not been very timely in getting this post done, as I see an hour has passed since I started it.  I had a re-hab visit this morning, which wore me out. I fell yesterday, having twisted my ankle for the second time in a month, so this time I fell on my left hip, and it really is sore. She gave me some exercises for my dizziness-disequilibrium, and then a few things to help with the leg problems. I won’t get to do treadmill for awhile.

On the way home I picked up a new ankle brace, to try to head off a third fall, and maybe that will keep the hip in line too. We stopped at Walgreen’s. My friend, Darlene, picked up a few protein bars while I got the brace, and picked up milk and bread so I wouldn’t have to go to the grocery store. I saw three types of braces, but picked the most expensive one ($29.95) because it seemed to have more support than the others, with lacing and velcro, going higher than just the ankle. I figured I would be using it awhile, may as well get a better one. So, I spent about $40 where my friend spent only a few dollars on some power bars.

The clerk was one we have had before, very friendly likeable-type, and also a very observant man. As he handed Darlene her change he said, “You both have the same amount of change, that is highly unusual.” I said, if he knew what my daily life was like, he wouldn’t say that, and we just laughed. Coincidence is my specialty.

Speaking of coincidence, In the montage I put in my last blog/journal entry, there was a small part which used text that said, “Hmph! What a world it is up there! Makes a mn want to stay underwater for good, eh?” I got an anagram about water, which I will tell first then why it related. The anagram was, “A friend helps another to stop water damage…what made you think, ‘Wow, arms hurt!”

The first part of the anagram, “A friend helps another to stop water damage…” was about yesterday when my friend Darlene and her husband went out of town for awhile. At one point in the late afternoon, another friend came by to tell us there was water pouring out of a pipe in her basement, reported by those who share the common wall. They called the water department who came to shut off service at the curb. That helped. Apparently a spigot blew, so the other friend came by here for a key, and he and another friend went into the basement to make sure no wires were in the water, etc., and see what happened. Today they went back in to fix whatever broke so Darlene can get her water back on. That was the first part of the anagram.

The second part of the anagram, (what made you think, ‘Wow, arms hurt!) had to do with something I like that happens in church sometimes. Last night, the pastor asked people to hold hands in a circle around the church, so we could all pray while holding hands. Occasionally they did that in my other church (thank you Nathan). The pastor here has done it a few times, and I always appreciate it when he does. It seems I am often the person to connect the two sides of the church. I was again on Sunday night, and at one point my arms were really hurting, as I had to stretch quite a bit to connect the women on either side of me. I was really being pulled in either direction. And yes, I held their hands even though there were times I said how it hurt (to myself). Once again, the anagrams held true.

Hmmm, and considering how long I had the window open to this post before posting, I need to press the button and get on to other things, like today’s paper, so I can pick another cartoon/comic strip bubble for my next anagram.

11:11 is more of a new-age, spiritual connection, an open door or portal, some might say. There are those in the typical church environment who recognize it as an opportunity to make a connection, like with a faith infusion. It is whatever positive connection one makes of it.

This entry was posted in coincidence, Spiritual, synchronicity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

