mmm, puddin’

I never tasted organic milk before last night. 2% is my main drink, though I can go up or down, depending on the sale. I thought the bottles I bought could be bad because it was a little bitey, so I threw one gallon out, but decided to sleep on it before getting rid of the other one. I got two gallons of organic milk for 20 cents each at Kroger yesterday. TWENTY CENTS??? Yes. I figured it was still good, the sell date was today (5th). The checkout guy looked at the milk with the big tags on it, then looked at me, looked at the milk again and looked at me. I said, well, I’m gonna make lots of pudding.

I had purchased a gallon of 2% earlier for $3.79 when running errands. Then, when Darlene and I decided to go to the grocery on the hill, well, I figured I would see if they had any on sale. They did and I placed a gallon of regular milk in the cart. Next case caught my eye; I saw the organic milk, thought I would try it. For the difference of $2.50, I was still ahead anyway. I made pudding today. Old-fashioned (Amish recipe) vanilla pudding. Mmmmm. I didn’t have cornstarch in the house but had Tapioca starch the beau uses for his Thai cooking. Hey, it worked. I used some Mexican vanilla (yes, the real thing) and three fresh bananas; the pudding is delicious! It didn’t all fit in the bowl so I had to force the beau to eat some warm. I didn’t like the taste of the milk by itself, and so maybe it was on the edge, who knows, but after figuring it would be scalded it anyway, I used it, so we’ll be eating pudding a few days. Oooooh, I just remembered I bought strawberries yesterday too. Oh, those will be great on top!

Married with Children was on as I finished the pudding. I could hear, “See the tree how big it’s grown but friend it hasn’t been too long it wasn’t big… I laughed at her and she got mad the first day that she planted it was just a twig…” I was still at the sink, when I heard “Honey, I miss you….” from “Honey” by Bobby Goldsboro. I laughed because of the recent post I had about the trees with eyes. I was looking out the window, just laughing. Next I heard one of the characters singing, “I am woman hear me roar…”

Thinking about the pudding I made I decided to look up the age old question, Where does the phrase “the proof is in the pudding” come from? The etymology suggests “the proof of the pudding is in the eating.” It means that the true value or quality of something can only be judged when it’s put to use. The meaning is often summed up as “results are what count.”

BTW, I used to have a blog called Proof is in the Puddin’ Pages, if ya feel like reading some of my older stuff.

This entry was posted in coincidence, Spiritual, synchronicity, unusual occurrences and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

