stir up a hunger (& thirst)

Last week the pastor’s sermon was in I Samuel 15. In my bible was a song sheet from the praise team at the church I used to attend a couple of years ago in Cincinnati. After looking it over last week I left the paper there, knowing something would come of it somehow. Sometimes I move papers in and out or to different locations in my bible. I use objects sometimes too, like a charm or a eucalyptus leaf…just because it’s what I “hear”. This week, the Pilgrim Holiness pastor’s sermon was directly connected to that piece paper in my bible, though I said nothing to him about it. He said he “walked the floor of the church” this week, with Matthew’s beatitudes on his mind, having never preached on the particular verse he was to preach on today, Matthrew 5:6 (Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, For they shall be filled.) Today his sermon was all about that hunger and thirst for God.

The paper I left in my bible all week had on it these words:

Stir Up A Hunger
(Matt. 5:6
© 1998 Integrity’s Hosanna! Music by Paul Baloche and Rita Baloche

Day to night You can turn the dark into light
You can take a soul that was lost and turn it around
Lord on my own my heart can turn as hard as a stone
But You can make it tender again with Your love

Stir up a hunger
Stir up a hunger in my heart
Nothing will satisfy me
Nothing else will do
Stir up a hunger
A hunger in my heart
Stir up a hunger in my heart
For more of You

The words to Hungry are also on that side of the paper. Imagine that. Today’s Corn on the Cob comic strip is on the same theme…thirst, she uses Psalm 42:1-2 in her comic strip today: “For the director of music. A maskil of the Sons of Korah. As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When can I go and meet with God?” NIV

An unusual aside…on the way home from church today my neighbor talked to me about aliens; said she’d been listening to a radio station about them. She is one of the few I ever expected to have a conversation with about aliens. Good thing it is a short walk home.  😉

I’m sure you’ll find the collage interesting today. Notice I put the “director” in again. It was in yesterday’s collage in the post, lil’ dif. No anagrams for now, maybe after church session two today.

 

 

This entry was posted in aliens, anagrams, coincidence, Spiritual, synchronicity, unusual occurrences and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

