well bust my chops

I don’t think I had mentioned that after church one day I had asked the pastor (at the church I attend) about eating pork, and he pointed me to Peter’s “housetop vision” as the verse interpreted to mean eating pork was allowed. I disagreed based on one thing only, that it was the one and only verse underlined in my grandmother’s bible.

 This is, in part, what I wrote to him…though he has not answered in any form yet:

This is part of the reason I think my grandmother underlined one and only one verse in the entire bible. She did not believe that Peter’s “housetop vision” meant we were allowed to eat pork, so she would not eat pork, period. I suppose there is a division in thought about this particular verse. If you can show me otherwise, where the bible actually says to eat pork, I will consider that. When you mentioned swine in Luke 15, I took that to mean I should bring it up, because many interpretations exist for each scripture. I do not read this as part of an allowance for feeding swine and therefore to eat of it either: Luke 15:15, “Then he went and joined himself to a citizen of that country, and he sent him into his fields to feed swine.” Luke 15:16 “And he would gladly have filled his stomach with the pods that the swine ate, and no one gave him anything.”
I was pretty sure I heard what God said and meant in regards to what was or was not unclean. Many assume that Peter’s vision in Acts 10 permits the eating of unclean meats. But when you read this passage closely, you will see that it does not do away with the Law of Clean and Unclean Meats. That whole thing is about something else, so I think it was taken out of context.”

I do eat pork, having grown up eating it, mostly because my father demanded it all the time, but my grandmother didn’t eat it and my girls won’t knowingly eat it. So here I am, back to the swine thing, pork prohibited in the Old Testament:From Wikipedia

 “Leviticus 11,7-8

And the swine, though he divide the hoof, and be cloven footed, yet he cheweth not the cud; he is unclean to you. Of their flesh shall ye not eat, and their carcass shall ye not touch, they are unclean to you (KJV.)
Deuteronomy 14,8
And the swine, because it divideth the hoof, yet cheweth not the cud, it is unclean unto you. Ye shall not eat of their flesh, nor touch their dead carcass (KJV.)

 A similar prohibition is repeated in the Bible in the book of Isaiah chapter 65 verse 2-5.

It is my understanding the Qur’an reiterates this. I cannot say I understand all this, only that I am aware some consider it ok and some don’t. Just an observation. Besides, it came up in my anagram today, too:

I did not realize it was in Isaiah until I did the anagram. “He must’ve found your grandmother’s notation. That was a little interesting. They ask why that’s important. Where does God allow you to eat pork? What Holiness man stated it’s OK. Tell Isaiah path.”

Maybe the three little pigs story made another biblical connection, since I wrote to the pastor on the 27th of last month and the visiting revival pastor told his story on the 31st. I mentioned the visiting pastor’s sermon in my post, full of self & the 3 little pigs? , and said something about one of his sermons including “judging others”. Coincidentally, (and according to Wikipedia) the pearls before swine term comes from the discourse on holiness, which forms the concluding part of the Sermon on the Mount, following immediately from the discourse on judgementalism.

Should I stop eating pork chops now that I have made all of these connections? I don’t know. God deals with me in His own way, obviously. Enjoy today’s comics collage. It’s where I get these crazy ideas…and I call it the language of God.

11-4toons-anagram

i wonder what else I can learn from this comics collage…hmmm…..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

