End of May

The past couple of days were a little weird but not extraordinary. I spent a considerable amount of time in the library, reading news from a hundred and fifty years (or more) ago. I glean a few tidbits here and there and will share them on the historic blog at some point.

On the way to the library (Saturday) I stopped at the Dollar General store (see receipt) to pick up some small legal pads, an Elite and liquid gel pens. While there I found a magnifying glass, a kickboard to help me in pool therapy (I will be doing for myself) and picked up a bag of orange slices. I had been given $40 (which needed to last more than a few days)  and knew what I had bought was only about $10, so I would have enough. I had $40  set aside (of the $50 needed) to buy a pool pass this year. Everything was great…I was feeling good, the weather was perfect, and I was on my way to do some research.

Then I saw him. Some man who had already caught my eye when I moved out of his way as he shopped in the men’s clothing section as I think he had a pair of jeans, maybe some t-shirts or underwear and some slippers. I was looking at pool floats, not really looking at what other people were buying. He showed up behind me in the line, or more to the side of me,  I should say, because of some items in the aisle. He was having difficulty holding that which he intended to purchase, dropping some of the items a couple of times. I offered to help him hold something but he declined. I offered to let him go before me, figuring that might help and he declined. He told me his mother and father always told him to let a lady go first. I explained to him that there are sometimes exceptions in life, especially if the lady insists…this being one of those times.

We waited another minute or so before he was waited on, as I said,  there was a line and we had already waited about 5 minutes. When the gentleman before me was finished I motioned this man (about whom I have been writing) to go ahead of me and watched as he placed the items on the counter. Then came the signal and I knew I was there for another reason.

I took out a twenty, checking to make sure I had brought enough money for my purchases. The man was told his purchases amounted to $35 and some change. I watched as he removed two tens and a few ones from his wallet, and knew he would not have enough.  The cashier was trying to explain to him that he did not have enough money but he wasn’t quite getting the twelve dollar difference because he put another single  on the counter (as though it would be a ten) and stacked a few quarters while I tried to get the cashier’s attention.

After waving it discreetly behind the man’s back I slid a twenty between a couple of things on the counter near the register so the cashier could take  it, saying and nodding to the manager, “I think you can figure it out, if you just give him his change.”  The cashier took my twenty, his ten what else she needed and gave him back a ten and some change. As he put the money on the counter into his wallet I am not sure he noticed anything amiss. The employees were gracious enough to let it be. I had no intention of giving up a twenty to a stranger, but apparently God knew I had “enough” and put me there to take care of it.

Earlier in the week I talked with the beau about a job he had done up on the hill where, for whatever the reason, the man was unsatisfied. It had nothing to do with the work that was done, just the person’s attitude, as I found him to be a double-minded person, one moment telling me how wonderful it was that the beau took so much time and effort to help him out (that he just wanted to hug him, that the work he had done was wonderful) and the next thing telling a co-worker he wanted his money back. $600. Money that is hard to come by around here, something he could have used, especially at property tax time. The man has no idea what quality work had already been done, nor did he care; he just wanted to be a bully. Maybe that is how he gets work done around his place… for free. Anyway, the beau gave it all back, because that is the person he is and he would rather do that than deal with the guy anymore. The man on the hill lives in one of the nicest houses and we live in one that is falling down.

It was thus a little hard for me to tell someone who just gave $600 of his hard-earned money away that I gave another $20 of his away at the Dollar General store. Somehow though, he understood. It isn’t the first time I have done that, but I have faith that we will get it back someday. Meanwhile, I still had my $3.16 for this morning’s offering and the same for this evening’s offering plate

and it’s  time to get ready for church again…it’s Pentecost Sunday, remember?

Here’s yesterday’s and today’s usual “conversational” arrangement of some of the comics I read. I included a cam shot of a t-shirt I got at Salvation Army (receipt of 29th)  (that which is depicted on the shirt has a connection to comics in the week past) and a tagline from a commercial that came on TV as I did the collage. An Intel commercial which says, “Our big ideas aren’t like your big ideas.”5-30--09toons

5-31-09toons

I have not done any anagrams. Not sure if I will.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to End of May

  1. elissestuart says:

    Thank you for sharing this.
    I’ve had similar experiences.
    I just call them God moments.
    ES

  2. Linda Taylor says:

    This is our Lord at work…. He will always see your needs are met too, and more. He has promised that. When He tells us to do something we will not be able to rest until we do it:)))) Sounds to me He has already blessed you with a swell “beau”. 🙂

  3. V says:

    We all have a sense of propriety…I guess it depends on what you subscribe to in life. In the end we know how it all works out. 8)

Leave a Reply

