as it storms

LUKE 6:47 “Whoever comes to Me, and hears My sayings and does them, I will show you whom he is like: (48) He is like a man building a house, who dug deep and laid the foundation on the rock. And when the flood arose, the stream beat vehemently against that house, and could not shake it, for it was founded on the rock.”

 stormoutside6-2-09My Rock is Jesus. He is my calm in the storm and there is one that rages outside as I type this evening, literally and figuratively.  As the dogs cower from the lightning and thunder outside, many in this neighborhood are concerned about losing their homes to the Milton-Madison Bridge Project. Can ‘t say I blame them; I am one of them. Those who built this neighborhood over a hundred and fifty-years ago were hard-working godly men and women. They expected these buildings to last a long time, and they have, for the most part. I am just doing my bit to try to keep them standing, without having to have a bridge cut through the backyard.

There’s a reason we are here. It may be the fringe, some say the poorer side of town, but there’s a little more space between the houses, more green than in the denser city proper, and it’s a lot quieter here too. Many families in this neighborhood have been here a number of generations. Many have no plans to move—come hell, high water or a bridge. It’s my unofficial job to do what I can to keep the neighborhood intact.

More research tomorrow. For tonight, I will enjoy the breeze that comes this way, and the knowlege that though half of my roof is but felt paper and tarp, it doesn’t leak, nor wrinkle or flap in the wind.

Shown whom I am like, I ponder the day and make my comic connections; here is today’s comics collage…it even includes a ferry today 😉6-2-09toons

Thinking outside the box hmmm…let there be light.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

